Suspension: SAIT Hockey - Duncan

( Commissioner's Rulings )

2012-13 Season

January 7, 2013

Facts:
On November 24, 2012 NAIT Women’s Hockey player Vanessa Klimpke was seriously injured as a result of being hit by SAIT’s Mackenzie Duncan (#8). No penalty was called on the play.

Pursuant to Article I Section 13 Rule 9.11 of the ACAC Operating Code, NAIT has submitted video footage of the incident and has asked for an extraordinary review.

Ruling:
I have been provided with a letter from NAIT’s athletic therapist confirming that Ms. Klimpke sustained a severe concussion as a result of the hit. She will be unable to play hockey for an indeterminate period. I have been advised that Ms. Klimpke was unable to successfully complete her first semester at NAIT due to her ongoing symptoms, which has lead to a decision not to return to school for the second semester.

I have had the opportunity to review the footage of the incident. The incident took place along the NAIT blue line as SAIT was attacking. A SAIT player carries the puck down the boards and cuts to her right as she approaches the NAIT blue line. NAIT’s Vanessa Klimpke moves toward the puck carrier, who moves to her right to get around Ms. Klimpke at the blue line. As she does so, SAIT’s Mackenzie Duncan, coming from the Ms. Klimpke’s blind side, violently impacts with Ms. Klimpke.

SAIT’s response to my request for input on the hit was that it was an unfortunate collision that takes place in a fast paced game. Their position is that Ms. Duncan was trying to clear the NAIT zone to avoid an offside.

I disagree with SAIT’s version of events. Having viewed video footage of the incident several times, it is my opinion that the hit by Ms. Duncan appeared to be intentional. At a minimum, she made absolutely no attempt to avoid striking Ms. Klimpke when she clearly could have done so. She also appears to raise her arms to contact Ms. Klimpke’s upper body. Additionally, Ms. Klimpke was in an extremely vulnerable position at the time of impact, which is an aggravational factor.

As I have said in previous rulings, I am reluctant to put myself in the position of the referee, who is usually in a far better position to assess the play in question, based on his or her proximity to the incident. However, in this case, it is my opinion that a penalty should have been called on the play. I am not in a position to decide whether the penalty should have been a major penalty although I feel that a major could easily have been justified under the circumstances.

In this instance, it is my finding that supplemental discipline is warranted based on the severity of the hit, the vulnerable position of the injured player as well as the seriousness of the injury. Therefore, Ms. Duncan is hereby suspended for two (2) games, to be served as follows:

January 10, 2013 vs. RDC
January 11, 2013 vs. RDC

Sincerely,
Bill Hendsbee
ACAC Commissioner